lichenrachel
Thanks Received: 0
Forum Guests

Q24 - When the rate of inflation

by lichenrachel Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:16 pm

I have no clue what this question is talking about... Seems like economic principles are involved. I am totally confused. Someone please help me...

ManhattanPrepLSAT1
Thanks Received: 1909
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

Re: Q24 - When the rate of inflation

by ManhattanPrepLSAT1 Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:20 am

Fortunately I majored in economics back in school, so to me it's not jibberish. Though I bet for many people it is - just like a discussion on the use of metaphors would be way over my head!

The question asks us to complete the argument. We need to infer from the other statements, a logical completion to the argument.

We know that the difference between the rate of return on the most profitable investment and the rate of inflation is equal to the minimum loss possible.

What we don't know is the difference between the rate of return on a particular investment and the rate of inflation.

The stimulus relates to a situation in which the loss on the investment was greater than the minimum loss. If we suffered a loss on an investment greater than the minimum loss, then we must have not invested in the most profitable investment! Best expressed in answer choice (C).

The rest of the answer choices simply hope that you don't hold the conditions fixed. Remember the conclusion said, "in such a situation." So we need to hold the conditions constant, eliminating answer choices (A) and (B).

(A) cannot be inferred.
(B) cannot be inferred.
(D) is very tempting, but does not need to be true. Remember, it's the return on the particular investment that has declined, not the minimum loss on an investment.
(E) is similar to answer choice (E) but also not necessarily true.

Let me know if you still need some more help with this one!

perng.yan
Thanks Received: 2
Forum Guests

trophy
First Responder

Re: PT10 S4 Q24 When the rate of inflation exceeds the rate